Jalen Tucker Wins Joseph Lieber Memorial Scholarship

Jalen Tucker Receives 2022-2023 Joseph Lieber Memorial Cooperative Scholarship

November 14, 2022 (MANHATTAN, Kan.) – Jalen Tucker of Johnson, Kansas, a senior in agricultural economics at Kansas State University, has been awarded the Joseph Lieber Memorial Cooperative Scholarship through the Arthur Capper Cooperative Center in the Department of Agricultural Economics at Kansas State University.


Jalen is part of the leader’s team and conducts bible studies for Student Mobilization. He is a member of the National Society of Collegiate Scholars and earned semester honors multiple times. He also worked part-time while going to school and completed an internship with Skyland Co-op this summer. Jalen has a deep connection to the cooperative system. His father is the board chair for Skyland Co-op and many family members have also worked at the cooperative. Upon graduation in May 2023, Jalen plans to return to the family farm and in the future hopes to serve on the Skyland Co-op board of directors. Jalen and the Tucker family are affiliated with the following cooperatives: Golden Plains Credit Union, Pioneer Communications, Pioneer Electric Cooperative, Inc. and Skyland Co-op Inc.


The Joseph Lieber Memorial Cooperative Scholarship, established in tribute to the late Joe Lieber and his enthusiasm for cooperative education, has awarded over $88,500 in scholarships since its establishment in 2005. Lieber contributed to cooperative education and development for many years while serving as president of the Kansas Cooperative Council and was a respected leader in the co-op community.


“This scholarship was established by Joseph Lieber’s family and the Kansas Cooperative Council to perpetuate the memory and contribution of Joe Lieber to the development and leadership of cooperative businesses,” states Professor Brian Briggeman, director of the Arthur Capper Cooperative Center. “It also provides significant financial assistance to eligible students enrolled in educational programs emphasizing these areas of study.”


To be eligible for Joseph Lieber Memorial Cooperative Scholarship, a student must be either a junior or senior in K-State’s College of Agriculture at the time the scholarship is received. The recipient must also be affiliated as a member or as a child or dependent of a member of a Kansas agricultural marketing, supply, or service cooperative that is a member of the Kansas Cooperative Council. Continuing K-State students are encouraged to fill out the K-State scholarship application to be included in the university scholarship process for the 2023-2024 academic year.


The Joseph Lieber Memorial Cooperative Scholarship was funded by contributions made to the Center’s endowment fund with the K-State Foundation. Contributions have been made by the Kansas Cooperative Council and the Lieber family and friends in the cooperative community.  “Additional contributions by those who want to honor the memory of Joseph Lieber and support the purposes of the scholarship are welcome,” Dr. Briggeman said. They should be made payable to “KSU Foundation/Lieber” and sent to the Arthur Capper Cooperative Center, Department of Agricultural Economics, 305 Waters Hall, Kansas State University, Manhattan, KS 66506.


About the Kansas Cooperative Council

Kansas Cooperative Council is a voluntary trade association representing all forms of cooperatively structured business in Kansas.  The mission of the Kansas Cooperative Council is to promote, support and advance the interests, business success and understanding of agricultural, utility, credit and consumer cooperatives and their members through legislation and regulatory efforts, education, and public relations.


About the Arthur Capper Cooperative Center

The Arthur Capper Cooperative Center provides research-based information, education, and assistance to people with an interest in cooperative businesses, including cooperative members, directors, managers, and employees. The Center also works with students and faculty at educational institutions, the general public, and public officials as well as owners, directors, managers, and employees of agribusinesses. Further information can be obtained about this scholarship or about establishing additional scholarships by emailing Brian Briggeman at bbrigg@ksu.edu or visiting the Arthur Capper Cooperative Center website at http://accc.k-state.edu/.


K‑State Research and Extension is a short name for the Kansas State University Agricultural Experiment Station and Cooperative Extension Service, a program designed to generate and distribute useful knowledge for the well‑being of Kansans. Supported by county, state, federal and private funds, the program has county extension offices, experiment fields, area extension offices and regional research centers statewide. Its headquarters is on the K‑State campus in Manhattan. For more information, visit www.ksre.ksu.edu  K-State Research and Extension is an equal opportunity provider and employer.


Story by: Arthur Capper Cooperative Center
Department of Agricultural Economics, Kansas State University
K-State Research & Extension


Photo caption: Jalen Tucker and Brandi Miller, Kansas Cooperative Council President/CEO at the K-State Department of Agricultural Economics Awards Banquet, September 30, 2022.